The Log Book: May-June-July 2015

May went by in a rush and a whirl.  Between a wedding and a two-week trip to California, time sped away until I was suddenly in the middle of June.  And then I blinked, and it was the middle of July.

Latest projects: Spring cleaning.  Or should I say summer cleaning?  Better late than never, I say.

What’s cooking? Not a whole lot.  I did make strawberry shortcake for Mother’s Day, and steak for Father’s Day. But I didn’t cook for about three weeks between the wedding and California, so I’m trying to get back into it now.
This month’s favorites: Most of our meals have been eating out, or eating at other people’s houses.   It was fun to walk up and down Fisherman’s Wharf in Monterey, CA and sample clam chowder from various restaurants.  In our opinion, the Old Fisherman’s Grotto had the best chowder.  We also bought ourselves some horchata and indulged in some pan dulce and other Mexican treats while in California.  Apparently there are some things I miss about El Paso.

Reading:
Pig Tales by Barry Estabrook
The Emperor of All Maladies:  A Biography of Cancer by Siddhartha Mukherjee (I am still reading this one.  It’s thick, but good.)
300 Sandwiches by Stephanie Smith
Uprooted by Naomi Novik (I have not enjoyed a piece of fiction this much in a long time.  Highly recommend.)
Financial Peace Revisited by Dave Ramsay
Harry Potter:  Sorcerer’s Stone, Chamber of Secrets, Prisoner of Azkaban & Goblet of Fire

Watching and listening:
M*A*S*H
season 1 & 2
Unbroken
War of the Worlds
BBC’s The Chronicles of Narnia:  Price Caspian & The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, The Silver Chair
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

I’m looking forward to: Not having any major events scheduled until Christmas.  It’s been fun, but I am ready for things to slow down.

Other happenings:
My younger brother commissioned into the Army and graduated from college on Mother’s Day weekend.  Is he really grown-up enough to do that???
…and then, because you can never cram too many important life events into the space of a few weeks, he got married over Memorial Day weekend.  Despite my sarcasm, it was beautiful.  I was a bridesmaid and Shaun was in the saber arch.
…two days later, we went on a two-week trip to California, visiting Shaun’s relatives.  We went to L.A., Yosemite, Monterey and San Francisco.  I want to go back!
At the end of June I took a test to determine if I have asthma.  Although the results were close, they were negative.  This is both a relief and frustration: while I don’t particularly want to “have asthma,” something is going on with my lungs.  It would be nice to pin it down and say, “That.  That is what I have.”  I am considering allergy testing, but for now I’m continuing to treat my “asthma-like symptoms” and hope that this will go away at some point.
A reunion the second week of July with some of my dearest friends from college–the first time in four years.  We met at the school and spent the weekend together.  Some oft-repeated statements that characterize the weekend:
“Why did we wait four years to get together like this???”
“We need to do this more often.  Let’s do it yearly.”
“Guys, we’re talking about health insurance and jobs and the mileage on our cars.  WE’RE SO OLD!”
It’s a summer of weddings!  My brother-in-law married to his lovely fiancee in mid-July.  We weren’t able to attend the ceremony, but we will celebrate with them at a reception in the New Year.
We have four new windows on our house!  Good-bye to stuffing dishcloths in the gaps to stop the winter winds, or sweltering in summer because we can’t open the windows to let in the breeze.

Leave a Reply

